Sponsored by..

Saturday 22 November 2008

"Louvre Tec Products Ltd" job offer scam

LouvreTec is a wholly legitimate New Zealand company using the domains www.louvretec.co.nz, louvretec.net, louvretec.com and other similar names.

This fraudulent job offer is not from LouvreTec, but it looks like it is.

Subject: Work Online With US
From: "Louvre Tec Products Ltd" Job@louvretec.co.nz

You could make 5,000 pounds online in a week without delaying your present job...

Hit REPLY for more details..

Although it appears to be "from" louvretec.co.nz, hitting "reply" comes up with a completely different email address of louvretecproductsltd.n.z@emailaccount.com. The scammers are hoping that no-one will notice this. (In case you are wondering why it is different, it's an annoying feature called the "reply to" address).

£5000 a week sounds good.. after all, that's over a quarter of a million quid a year. Yeah right..

One interesting thing with this spam is the bit at the bottom. The scammers realise that spam filters tend to remove junk like this, so they are asking you to check your junk messages for job offers. Not a good idea.

Originating IP address is, which claims to be in the UK and the message was sent to an email address stolen from a UK online retailer.


sharkcolorado said...

yeah.. louvre tec ltda is paying a good money to be working at home...
that scammers r being my friends i think.. i received everydays many msgs like that of louvre tec.
today felicia johnson sent me a msg telling me changed her email adress.. (im sure everybody knows felicia johnson.. she is that who propose transfers of money.. US$ 15,200,000.00... really thats a good money too...).

sharkcolorado said...

i received a msg saying contents photos in jpg attached but not in the msg header had any attachement.
opening that msg i noticed that there was a link simulating presentation of attachements in jpg. this link contains a virus software and it leased on a site of an industry that manufactures pianos.
noticed the site that hosts the virus and not seemed me to be a fake site. so i ask.. can the site of a real company being used to host virus? i wonder if that company couldnt know about it used.
or is a fake site created only for fa├žade?

Conrad Longmore said...

Yes, sometimes legitimate sites get hacked and have malware loaded on. It's a good idea to let 'em know if you can.

sharkcolorado said...

that msg was from juliana@netsite.com.br
they sent to juliana@hotmail.com too.
but when we open the msg thats wrote from juliana@globo.com (globo is the biger network tv news and radio of Brazil).
the msg is in portuguese but something likes:
i finished my slide of photos. it became so good. im a litlle busy and just sent to u and carol. after ill send u the other pics.

and there was a link trying to seem the attachements of mpg from yahoo. but that was so diferent. the letters diferents and wrote in blue. they didnt forget that clip of the attachements but forgot to wrote in black. and the attachements are always near from the header of the msg. thats never at final of the msg.
that link has a virus simulating the windows software viewer photos.
if u want i can send u that link but i wont write here coz the virus may spread.

Unknown said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Unknown said...

Hi All,
I run the research and development department four LouvreTec, I also take care of IT.

These emails are driving me insane!

We get 5 replies a week from gullible people accepting our supposed 'job offer'
How can I use the attached IP addy to nab these buggers?

sharkcolorado said...

you really can find the ip of a computer throught an email received.
a good way to do this is configuring your email account in outlook express. then you click on the outlook on the message once using the right mouse button. the following select properties. details later. and the source code. source code in theis box you may already viewed the ip sent the message. is usually the last ip that appears described received from. so with the number of ip you can acess http://www.geobytes.com/iplocator.htm?GetLocation
there you will see what place that ip comes from. the country and the city.

sharkcolorado said...

is a shame that this is not enough because peolple who do this sort of thing used several tricks to obstruct the identification of them. i received many email with ip different all equal. who is malicious blocks the identification of the ip because there are ways to do this. in addition who is doing this may well use public computers in lan houses for example. they create an email account in seconds at a lan house now and after some minutes can do the same thing in another lan house. the best is use the best security sofwares and take safety precautions dialy.
we know also that not even the best security updated from time to time are able to block certain but we must do what is possible.
the ISP's have all the data trafic from ip but only the police have acess to this data. so if sometime you are being a victim of crime should report to the police because they have all the resources and information available.

Unknown said...

The toe rag issuing this particular scam is currently being hosted by rackspace, but probably not for long as it's an abuse of their T&C and they've been notified. Not that this will stop the beggar.
I do wonder tho what kind of moron falls for "Most of our customers from United States and United Kingdom pay through Bank Wire Transfer and Certified Checks which are not negotiable here in New Zealand." I could almost understand the ones purporting to come from some war-torn backwater of Upper Bongo, but the idea that a NZ company would be accepting payment in a non-negotiable form....

Duh! I guess there's one born every minute.

Unknown said...

Hellene, dear, to most people "wire transfer", "non-negotiable fee", etc sounds exactly like any other gibberish banks and finance people come up with to make us part with our cash - and you only need to recall the reasons and true perpetrators of the current financial crisis to understand how successful this sor of brainwashing can be - so - lay off of us simpletons - specifically the ones that can quite possibly be slightly demented from old age and problems caused by puny pensions paid by hapless government in return for years of toil and hard work - calling possible victims of such scams "morons" is simply insensible, undignified and rather cruel.

But that was quite beside the point - education, awareness is the key in this case - more people should do lots more to make scams such as this one a common knowledge, so that there will be no more "morons" who can fall for them.

PS. A big moron and a little more on stood on a swaying bridge. One of them fell into the river. Which one didn't?

The one who was a little more on...