Sponsored by..

Sunday 3 June 2012

"Your Job Application is Pending" / rockingcreditoffer.com scam

We've seen a variant of this "Rock Force Management" scam a couple of times before (here and here).

Date:      Sun, 3 Jun 2012 21:04:25 +0200
From:      "Gracie Vega" [bog@cerex.com]
Subject:      Your Job Application is Pending

Hello Advantage

Thank you for submitting your information for potential employment opportunities.
We look forward to reviewing your application,
but can not do so until you complete our internal application.

Prior to begin able to be considered, you will first need you to formally apply.
Please go here to begin the process:


Also, the following perks are potentially available:

- Paid Time Off
- Health Benefits Package
- Higher than average salaries
- Tuition Reimbursement
- Extensive 401(k)program

Please take the time to follow the directions and complete the entire application process.


Then we get bounced through a series of redirectors:
5url.net/e7D  ->
xkteen.com.br/conlact.php?c=rockingcreditoffer&t=com?dejaryfi ->

One characteristic of these scam pages is the number "(240) 718-4632" which is displayed on each one.

After filling in some basic details, the scam starts to become clear.

All job applicants on this site are now required to check their credit score online and submit them here in order to proceed.

The purpose of this verification is to prevent fraud and authenticate the profile of all our applicants. Please take note this is a verification process only and the result of your credit score will not in any way affect your job application. We just need to know that you are a real person.
There's a button labelled "Please click here to obtain your credit score (Authorized Credit Retrieval Agent)" which is this case leads to a 404 page, but before we have seen it going to a get-rich-quick scam page instead.

The problem is that by the time the scam becomes apparent, you have already furnished the scammers with your personally identifiable information which they will sell on to other scammers and spammers.

In this case the originating IP was in Vietnam, the rockingcreditoffer.com scam site was hosted on (Voejkova Nadezhda, a Russian firm hosting across the border in Ukraine). Give this one a wide berth..

No comments: