Sponsored by..

Saturday 17 November 2012

J. dee Edwards / jdeeedwards.com scam

I'm not even certain what this scam is, but this is certainly not legitimate:

From: J. dee Edwards j.edwards@jdeeedwards.com
Reply-To: j.edwards@jdeeedwards.com
Date: 17 November 2012 16:29
Subject: Edwards contact

Dear Colleague,

We are working with healthcare market companies which would like to hear your opinion.

We would like you to become a member of working group and share your opinion online. Please review your full name, specialty, country and language by clicking on the link http://www.jdeeedwards.com/contact.php?e=[redacted] or replying to the email.

Thank you for your time.

J. dee Edwards HRms

To ensure that our emails reach you, please remember to add j.edwards@jdeeedwards.com to your email address book.
We would like to remind you that J. dee Edwards is committed to safeguarding your privacy and your personal details will not be disclosed to third parties.
If you do not wish to receive please visit: http://jdeeedwards.com/unsub.php?e=[redacted]
Copyright 2012 - J. dee Edwards - 20 Broadwick Street London, UK 
Firstly, the email is sent to an address that ONLY spammers use, which is not a good sign. Secondly, the domain jdeeedwards.com has anonymous WHOIS details and was registered just over a month ago - the site is hosted on (Amazon, Ireland) and looks like this:

This fairly badly spelled page (the title is "J. dee Edwards - Human resourcs experts") says:

J. dee Edwards
Human resources experts

We plan, direct, and coordinate the administrative functions of an organization. We oversee the recruiting, interviewing, and hiring of new staff; consult with top executives on strategic planning; and serve as a link between an organization’s management and its employees.

We are comming soon...
Now, there did used to be a company called JD Edwards, but there isn't any more, nor is there a company called J. dee Edwards anywhere in the UK.

The link in the email is some sort of signup thing, I guess it's the first part of a scam to recruit people for some sort of illegal activity.

Oddly, the email address is an "optional" component, so how are they going to contact you? Maybe it's the tracking code in the link.

Alternatively, you can reply by email and this is the third suspect thing, the mailserver is on in Lithunia (AS8764 / LIETUVOS-TELEKOMAS). AS8764 is a pretty scummy netblock according to Google. is also the IP address the spam was sent from.

So, a non-existent company with a month-old domain sends an email to an address only spammers use, from an email server in a dodgy part of cyberspace. Whatever this is, it is some sort of scam and is definitely best avoided.

1 comment:

Unknown said...

ouch! I unsubscribed, hope this doesnt taint me.