Sponsored by..

Monday 16 December 2013

yiyu-ipr.org domain scam

Yet another Chinese domain scam, this time trying to punt the "Tiger Direct" trademark (which I don't own!).

From:     lisa [lisa@yiyu-ipr.org]
Date:     16 December 2013 04:04
Subject:     International Trademark " tigerdirect"

(Please forward this to your CEO or President, because this is urgent. Thank you.)

Dear President & CEO,

We are an IPR registration service law office in China. On Dec.13, 2013, we received an application from "TD Investment Co., Ltd." wants to register the following Trademark and Domains:



Based on the registration procedure, we found that the name is the same as your company's name,and we must check these for you. If your company and this "TD Investment Co., Ltd." are the same company,there is no need to reply to us,We will accept their application and will register those for them soon. If your company has no relationships with that company nor authorized,please reply to us asap at latest within 7 workdays. But if we can't get any information from your side over 7 workdays,we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "TD Investment Co., Ltd." Thanks for your cooperation.

Kind Regards,

Lisa Zeng

Lisa Zeng / Attorney
YIYU Chengdu Office(Head Office)
3/F,1st Building Citang Street No.8,
Qingyang District, ChengDu, China.
Tel: +86 28 8777 5008
Fax: +86 28 6246 5008
Web: http://www.yiyu-ipr.org
This e-mail contains information (including any attachments) intended only for the use of the individual or entity named above. If the reader of this e-mail is not the intended recipient or the authorized employee or agent responsible for delivering it to the intended recipient, any dissemination, publication or copying of this e-mail is strictly prohibited and may be illegal. If you have received this communication in error, please notify the sender. Thank you for your cooperation.
P Please consider the environment before you print this e-mail.
This scam has been running for a long time. In reality registrars are in no way responsible for checking trademarks before registration, and my experience is that even after these dire warnings nobody actually registers the domains in any case.

I don't know if the WHOIS details for this domain are genuine, but there are:
Registrant ID:f0dda025f296d026
Registrant Name:David Tang
Registrant Organization:YIYU LAW OFFICE
Registrant Street1:chengdushi
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:chengdushi
Registrant State/Province:sichuan
Registrant Postal Code:100000
Registrant Country:CN
Registrant Phone:+86.2887775008
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:+86.2862465008
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:296304138@qq.com

These other domains are all associated with the same outfit and you can probably assume that any similar pitch from them is a scam.


No comments: