Sponsored by..

Friday 3 August 2012

yg-network.org / Keyya Ltd domain scam

This is part of a domain scam that has been going on for years..

from:     Angela info@gytrademark.com
to:     sales@[redacted].com
date:     3 August 2012 03:21
subject:     Notice of Internet Intellectual Property

Dear Manager,

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)

This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally in China and Asia.
On July 30th 2012, We received Keyya Ltd's application that they are registering the name "[redacted]" as their Internet Keyword and "[redacted].cn "、"[redacted].com.cn " 、"[redacted].asia "domain names etc.., they are China and ASIA domain names. But after auditing we found the brand name been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you, so we are sending you this email to check. According to the principle in China, your company is the owner of the trademark, In our auditing time we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, if you object the third party application these domain names and need to protect the brand in china and Asia by yourself, please let the responsible officer contact us as soon as possible. Thank you!

Best Regards,

Angela Zhang

General Manager
Anhui Office (Head Office)
Registration Department Manager
Room 1008 Shenhui Building 
Haitian Road, Huli Anhui, China
Office:  +86 0553 4994789
Fax:     +86 0553 4994789
web:  www.yg-network.org

Basically the idea is to panic you into buying worthless domains from a dodgy Chinese registrar. Of course, there is no company actually trying to register these domains.. and even if there was there is no responsibility for the registrar to check trademark ownership (except in a tiny handful of cases such as sunrise registrations).

What's more.. I already own the .asia version of this domain name, so it is impossible that someone else is trying to register it.

So, this one is definitely a scam. Stay away.

No comments: