Sponsored by..

Wednesday 1 April 2015

Malware spam: "Batchuser BATCHUSER [ecommsupport@cihgroup.com]" / "CIH Delivery Note 0051037484"

The CIH Group is the name behind the Euronics brand. They are not sending out this spam, instead it is a simple forgery with a malicious attachment.

From:    Batchuser BATCHUSER [ecommsupport@cihgroup.com]
Date:    31 March 2015 at 09:15
Subject:    CIH Delivery Note 0051037484

This email and the information it contains are private, may be confidential and are for the intended recipient only. If you received this email in error please notify the sender immediately, confirm that it has been deleted from your system and that all copies have been destroyed. You should not copy it for any purpose or disclose its contents to any other person.
Internet communications are not secure and therefore CIH does not accept legal responsibility for the contents of this message.
We use reasonable endeavours to virus scan all outgoing emails but no warranty is given that this email and any attachments are virus free. You should undertake your own virus checking. We reserve the right to monitor email communications through our networks.
Combined Independents (Holdings) Ltd is registered in England No 767658 and has its registered offices at
Euro House, Joule Road, Andover, SP10 3GD

Apart from the disclaimer there is no body text. If you do as the disclaimer says and run attached Word document (CIH Delivery Note 0051037484.doc) through an anti-virus product then it will appear to clean, but it actually contains this malicious macro [pastebin] which downloads a component from:


This is saved as %TEMP%\stoiki86.exe. There are usually two or three different download locations, but they will all lead to the the same binary which in this case has a detection rate of 5/56.

Various automated analysis tools [1] [2] [3] [4] show traffic to the following IPs: (OOO Sysmedia, Russia) (Comfortel Ltd / Pirix, Russia) (GoDaddy, US) (1&1, Germany) (Aqua Networks Ltd, Germany) (Digital Ocean Inc, Netherlands) (Deniz Toprak / B2 Net Solutions Inc, US) (Leaseweb, Netherlands)

According to this Malwr report it also drops another version of the downloader [VT 4/57] and a malicious DLL which will almost definitely be Dridex [VT 2/57].

Recommended blocklist:

No comments: