Sponsored by..

Wednesday 23 December 2015

Malware spam: "FW: Meridian (Acc. No. 51588088) - Professional Fee Invoice"

This fake financial spam comes with a malicious attachment. The sender's name and reference number is randomly generated.

From:    Josie Ruiz
Date:    23 December 2015 at 11:38
Subject:    FW: Meridian (Acc. No. 51588088) - Professional Fee Invoice

Dear Sir/Madam,

Re:  Meridian Professional Fees

Please find attached our fee note for services provided, which we trust meets with your approval.

Payment should be made to Meridian International VAT Consulting Ltd. within the agreed payment terms.

We look forward to your remittance in due course.

Yours sincerely
Josie Ruiz
Financial CEO

This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com ______________________________________________________________________
The information in this email and any attachments are the property ofALTAVIA or its affiliates and may contain proprietary and confidential information that is intended for the addressee(s) only. If you are not the intended recipient, please refrain from any disclosure, copying, distribution, retention or use of this information. You are hereby notified that such actions are prohibited and could be illegal. If you have received this e-mail in error, please immediately contact the sender and delete the e-mail. We appreciate your cooperation. Email transmissions being not guaranteed, ALTAVIA and its affiliates decline their liability due to this email transmission, specifically when altered, modified or falsified.
Les informations contenues dans cet e-mail ainsi que les fichiers joints sont la propriété d’ALTAVIA et / ou ses filiales et peuvent être des informations confidentielles et privées qui sont adressées à l’attention de leur destinataire uniquement. Si vous n’êtes pas le destinataire du message  merci de ne pas divulguer, copier, diffuser, conserver ou utiliser ces informations. Vous êtes par la présente notifié que ces agissements sont interdits et peuvent être illégaux. Si vous avez reçu cet e-mail par erreur, merci de prendre contact immédiatement avec l’expéditeur et de détruire cet e-mail. Nous vous remercions de votre coopération. La correspondance en ligne n’étant pas un moyen entièrement sécurisé, ALTAVIA et ses filiales déclinent toute responsabilité au titre de cette transmission, notamment si son contenu a été altéré, déformé ou falsifié.
This email has been scanned by the Symantec Email Security.cloud service.
For more information please visit http://www.symanteccloud.com

The attachment has the same reference number as the subject, and there are at least five different versions (VirusTotal results [1] [2] [3] [4] [5]).

Analysis of the documents is pending, but this is likely to be the Dridex banking trojan.


Hybrid Analysis of some of the samples [1] [2] shows some download locations:

Those IPs belong to: (Ukrainian Internet Names Center LTD, Ukraine) (McHost.Ru Inc, Russia)

This is actually an executable with a detection rate of 4/53. The purpose of this executable is unknown, but it is certainly malicious. Analysis is still pending.


This Threat Expert report and this Hybrid Analysis both report traffic to a presumably hacked server at: (Digital Ocean, US)

Recommended blocklist:

No comments: