Sponsored by..

Monday 14 December 2015

Malware spam: "Your order #12345678" / "11 Money Way, Pittsburgh, PA 15226"

This fake financial spam leads to malware:

From:    Giuseppe Sims
Date:    14 December 2015 at 14:19
Subject:    Your order #25333445

Dear Valued Customer,

This letter was sent to you as a formal notice that you are obligated to repay our company the sum of 2,760$ which was advanced to you from our company on October 16, 2015.
Please, find the invoice enclosed down below.

This amount must be repaid until the date of maturity to payment obligation, December 28, 2015 and you have failed to repay our company the same despite repeated requests for this payment.

Thank you in advance for your prompt attention to this matter. We look forward to your remittance. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Giuseppe Sims
11 Money Way
Pittsburgh, PA 15226
The sender's name is randomly-generated but is always female. Also random are the order number and value, and there is an attachment in the format invoice_12345678_scan.zip that matches the reference in the document.

Inside that ZIP file is a uniquely generated .JS file in the format invoice_XXXXXX.js or invoice_copy_XXXXXX.js which is highly obfuscated (like this) and deobfuscates to something like this.

The various versions of the macro attempts to download a binary from the following location:


I cannot get this to resolve at the moment, it turns out that the domain was only registered today.

Domain Name:miracleworld1.com
Registry Domain ID:
Registrar WHOIS Server: whois.webnic.cc
Registrar URL: webnic.cc
Updated Date:2015-12-14 21:24:21
Creation Date:2015-12-14 21:21:12
Registrar Registration Expiration Date:2016-12-14 13:21:11
Registrar IANA ID:460
Registrar Abuse Contact Email:compliance_abuse@webnic.cc
Registrar Abuse Contact Phone:+603 8996 6799
Domain Status:Active
Registry Registrant ID:
Registrant Name:Eliisa Laukkanen
Registrant Organization:Eliisa Laukkanen
Registrant Street:Etelaesplanadi 89
Registrant City:Ingermaninkyla
Registrant State/Province:Ingermaninkyla
Registrant Postal Code:07810
Registrant Country:FI
Registrant Phone:+358.0460879234
Registrant Phone Ext:
Registrant Fax:+358.0460879234
Registrant Fax Ext:
Registrant Email:bomb@miracleworld1.com
I think they started spamming before the domain records could be pushed out fully. Shame.

Nameservers are DNS1.DONALDDUCKS.IN and DNS2.DONALDDUCKS.IN on (NTCOM, Russia) and (Dmitry Shestakov, Belize / OVH, France) respectively.

Looking at the nameservers, I can see that the following malicious domains are part of the same cluster, and I recommend you block all of them:


Although I have not been able to acquire the payload, it is almost definitely Teslacrypt.


An updated version of the script is being spammed out that looks like this when deobfuscated. This attempts to download Teslacrypt from the following URLs:


This has a detection rate of 4/55. firstwetakemanhat.com was registered just today and is hosted on: (PE Govoruhin Vitaliy Sergeevich, Russia) (Ideal-Hosting UG, Germany)

Nameservers are DNS1.GOGODNS.RU and DNS2.GOGODNS.RU which are hosted on the same two IPs.

The Malwr report shows more details, however this is my recommended blocklist (updated): 



Pink1986 said...

Thanks for this, received this email 10 mins ago and had a feeling it was dodgy!

Unknown said...

Thanks! Received the same thing today.

Rafa said...

I think one of my favourite things about this is how it must have been translated from another language - a quick lookup of the address reveals that 'Money Way' doesn't exist, the road in question is in fact called 'Cash Way'.

Yourbigpalal83 said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Unknown said...

I got this almost exact same message on my email, and got scared for a sec I actually owned someone. Thankfully I did search this before actually opening the invoice, so thank you for uploading this!

Unknown said...

Hi All. I'm so stupid that I downloaded this zip file. And I could not open it because of unknown extension (.js). Is my computer inffected because of it? What should I do to check it ? Thank you in advance for your help.