Sponsored by..

Monday 2 April 2012

US Airways Spam /

This spam appears to be from US Airways, but it actually leads to malware on

From:     US Airways - Reservations support@myusairways.com
Date:     2 April 2012 15:15
Subject:     US Airways online check-in confirmation.   
You have to check in from 24 hours and up to 60 minutes before your flight (2 hours if you're flying abroad). After that, all you need to do is print your boarding pass and proceed to the gate.

Confirmation code: 778136

Check-in online:  Online reservation details


Departure city and time

Washington, DC (DCA) 10:00PM

Depart date: 4/5/2012    

We are committed to protecting your privacy. Your information is kept private and confidential. For information about our privacy policy visit usairways.com.

US Airways, 111 W. Rio Salado Pkwy, Tempe, AZ 85281 , Copyright US Airways , All rights reserved. 

The link goes through a couple of legitimate hacked sites and ends up at which contains a malicious payload. This IP is hosted by Directspace in the US.


Helen said...

Yep I received this today. Thanks for posting to confirm it is Spam!

Helen said...

Yep I received this today. Thanks for posting to confirm it is Spam!


I received several today. Coincidentally, I flew US Air two months ago AND applied for and received their branded MasterCard.

So, the question is, is it just a coincidence that I received this spam or, was there some security breach where the CC info is stored?

Conrad Longmore said...

@Ira S: yes, I think it's a coincidence. This has been very widely spammed out today, it's one of the biggest spam runs I've seen for a while. I've certainly never flow US Air and I have several of these!

Snooker said...

I got two of these today. Living in the DC area I was mildly curious (although I almost always fly out of IAD not DCA. When I checked the flight no one was for the historic flight that landed in the Hudson! Thanks for the info.