Sponsored by..

Tuesday 10 September 2013

BBB Spam / Case_0938818_2818.exe

This fake BBB spam has a malicious attachment:

Date:      Tue, 10 Sep 2013 15:07:14 +0100 [10:07:14 EDT]
From:      Better Business Bureau [Aldo_Austin@newyork.bbb.org]
Subject:      FW: Case IN11A44X2WCP44M

The Better Business Bureau has received the above-referenced complaint from one of your
customers regarding their dealings with you. The details of the consumer's concern are
included on the reverse. Please review this matter and advise us of your position.

As a neutral third party, the Better Business Bureau can help to resolve the matter.
Often complaints are a result of misunderstandings a company wants to know about and

In the interest of time and good customer relations, please provide the BBB with written
verification of your position in this matter by September 13, 2013. Your prompt response
will allow BBB to be of service to you and your customer in reaching a mutually agreeable
resolution. Please inform us if you have contacted your customer directly and already
resolved this matter.

The Better Business Bureau develops and maintains Reliability Reports on companies across
the United States and Canada . This information is available to the public and is
frequently used by potential customers. Your cooperation in responding to this complaint
becomes a permanent part of your file with the Better Business Bureau. Failure to
promptly give attention to this matter may be reflected in the report we give to
consumers about your company.

We encourage you to print this complaint (attached file - Case_IN11A44X2WCP44M), answer
the questions and respond to us.

We look forward to your prompt attention to this matter.

Council of Better Business Bureaus
3033 Wilson Blvd, Suite 600
Arlington, VA 22201 
Attached to the message is a ZIP file Case_IN11A44X2WCP44M.zip which in turn contains an executable Case_0938818_2818.exe which has a shockingly low detection rate of just 1/46 at VirusTotal.

Automated analysis of the malware is inconclusive [1] [2] [3] [4], but it does generate outbound traffic to kwaggle.com port 443 on (Lunar Pages, US). The domain thisisyourwife.co.uk on the same server is also hosting malware, I would therefore be suspicious about some of the other sites on the same box.

Recommended blocklist:

No comments: