Sponsored by..

Wednesday 29 January 2014

The Green Organisation (thegreenorganisation.info) spam

Perhaps The Green Organisation (thegreenorganisation.info) has good intentions, but sending out unsolicited bulk email is just going to get them regarded as The Spam Organisation.

From:     Green Organisation greenorganisation@rkwmail.co.uk
Date:     29 January 2014 02:43
Subject:     FAO: The Chief Executive and anyone involved with the built environment


You can submit a free entry in the Green Apple Built Environment and Architectural Heritage Awards, as long as it arrives by February 28.

The top prize is a holiday for two in the world’s greenest resort – AquaCity in the High Tatras mountains of Slovakia.
There are three chances to win in each category, with Gold, Silver and Bronze trophies for the top three.
You also have the chance to represent your country in the European Business Awards for the Environment, as the Green Apple Awards is one of the few UK campaigns accepted as an official feeder scheme into the Brussels-led initiative.

If any of your building/construction projects helps the environment in any way, you are invited to submit an entry.

Every company or council is entitled to a free entry and all winners receive invitations for the glittering presentation ceremony at the Crystal, London in June, with food and drink included.

You can win…

  • A prestigious trophy and certificate
  • A holiday for two in the world’s greenest resort
  • International recognition
  • Qualification into Europe
  • Massive publicity
  • And we will plant a tree on behalf of each company submitting an entry.

And all free of charge!

The Green Apple Awards for the Built Environment 2014
 You can enter online, by email or by post and you will find more information at www.thegreenorganisation.info or you can phone 01604 810507.

It’s free – and easy!
The Green Organisation, The Mill House, Mill Lane, Earls Barton, Northampton NN6 0NR.
The email originates from which resolves as rkwmail.co.uk (hosted by Eclipse Internet in the UK). The WHOIS details for that domain are:

Domain name:

        Roger Wolens

    Registrant type:
        UK Individual

    Registrant's address:
        Mill House
        Earls Barton
        NN6 0NR
        United Kingdom

When we look at the spamvertised domain thegreenorganisation.info we see some broadly similar details:

Registrant ID:DI_9170956
Registrant Name:Domain Contact (103845)
Registrant Organization:The Green Organisation
Registrant Street1:The Mill Barn, Mill Lane
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Earls Barton
Registrant State/Province:Northants
Registrant Postal Code:NN6 0NR
Registrant Country:GB
Registrant Phone:+44.1604810507
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:rogerwolens@btconnect.com

So whois is Roger Wolens? Well, he appears to be the owner of The Green Organisation. So the next thing I wondered is.. exactly what is The Green Organisation. They answer this question on their own website:
THE GREEN ORGANISATION  has been established since 1994 as an international, independent, non-profit, non-political, non-activist environment group, dedicated to recognising, rewarding and promoting environmental best practice around the world.
Note that The Green Organisation is not a charity but a business. We can look that up on DueDil to see what it thinks:

OK, that seems to look like a non-profit to me. In fact a hunt around their website shows nothing suspect or untowards, although if it is really the hugely successful enterprise that it claims to be then I wonder why it is promoting itself through spam.

No comments: