Sponsored by..

Tuesday 28 February 2012

BBB and AICPA spam / 110hobart.com

Two spam runs with essentially the same malicious payload..

Date:      Mon, 26 Feb 2012 12:30:50 +0100
From:      "BBB"
Subject:      BBB case ID 73773062
Attachments:     betterbb_logo.jpg

Attention: Owner/Manager

Here with the Better Business Bureau notifies you that we have been sent a complaint (ID 73773062) from your customer in regard to their dealership with you.

Please open the COMPLAINT REPORT below to obtain the details on this matter and inform us about your position as soon as possible.

We hope to hear from you shortly.


Arnold Melendez

Dispute Counselor
Better Business Bureau

Council of Better Business Bureaus
4200 Wilson Blvd, Suite 800
Arlington, VA 22203-1838
Phone: 1 (703) 276.0100
Fax: 1 (703) 525.8277

Leading to 110hobart.com/main.php?page=f46555a4a5b80a04 and 110hobart.com/content/ap2.php?f=cc677, and also:

Date:      Mon, 26 Feb 2012 11:16:30 +0100
From:      "Adan Jordan"
Subject:      Tax return fraud notification.

You're receiving this notification as a Certified Public Accountant and a member of AICPA.
Having trouble reading this email? View it in your browser.

Revocation of Public Account Status due to tax return fraud accusations

Valued AICPA member,

We have received a notice of your recent involvement in income tax refund infringement on behalf of one of your clients. According to AICPA Bylaw Subsection 730 your Certified Public Accountant license can be cancelled in case of the act of filing of a false or fraudulent tax return on the member's or a client's behalf.

Please familiarize yourself with the notification below and respond to it within 21 days. The failure to respond within this time-frame will result in cancellation of your Accountant license.


The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Email: service@aicpa.org
Tel. 888.777.7077
Fax. 800.362.5066

Leading to 110hobart.com/content/ap2.php?f=cc677 and 110hobart.com/main.php?page=02876dd2afe89394 (a slightly different URL from before)

The IP address is a familiar one, which is allegedly an ADSL subscriber in Cairo. This IP has been used in several attacks recently, blocking it would be a really good idea.

No comments: