Sponsored by..

Thursday 16 February 2012

"Scan from a Hewlett-Packard Officejet" malicious spam / cserimankra.ru and samaragotodokns.ru

Another spam run with a malicious attachment:

Date:      Fri, 16 Feb 2012 11:24:56 +0700
From:      "VICTOR TALLEY"
Subject:      Scan from a Hewlett-Packard Officejet 3906171
Attachments:     HP_Scan-02.16_N05556.htm

Attached document was scanned and sent

to you using a Hewlett-Packard HP Officejet 97687P.

Sent by: VICTOR
Images : 9
Attachment Type: .HTML [Internet Explorer]

Hewlett-Packard Location: machine location not set
Device: PFJ722DS0IDJ4996064
The attachment attempts to download malicious code from cserimankra.ru:8080/images/aublbzdni.php  which is multihomed (report here) and then attempts to download more malcode from samaragotodokns.ru:8080/images/jw.php?i=8

These .ru sites are hosted on a familiar set of IP addresses, very similar to the ones found here. (Amazon Data Services, Ireland) (Steadfast Networks, US) (Slicehost US) (Comcast, US) (Colopronto, US) (Neterra, Bulgaria) (Free SAS / ProXad, France) (Tata Teleservices, India) (Slicehost, US) (Linode, US) (Slicehost, US) (Slicehost, US) (Telemax, Peru) (G2KHosting, Argentina) (Century Telecom Ltda, Brazil) (Jaidee Daijai, US) (Commission For Science And Technology, Pakistan) (SK Broadband Co Ltd, South Korea)

If you need a bare set of IP addresses for pasting into a blocklist:

Update: cgolidaofghjtr.ru is being used in a similar spam run and is on the same servers.

No comments: