Sponsored by..

Monday 11 January 2016

Malware spam: "We are processing your PC WORLD order (PCW1521248708)"

I've had several of these fake PC World emails get stuck in my spam trap. I don't have the body text, but the attachment is malicious.

From     PC World [no_reply@pcworld.co.uk]
Date     Mon, 11 Jan 2016 15:30:38 +0300
Subject     We are processing your PC WORLD order (PCW1521248708)
Attached is a file 102836144.doc which comes in a single version with a detection rate of 3/55.  Analysis is pending, however the payload is like to be the same as with these two spam runs [1] [2].


malcf said...

Ditto - had this email this am. All looks genuine but it isn't!.
There are also 2 x attachments which i haven't clicked on.


"Please do not reply to this email as it is automatically generated.

Dear Customer
We are now preparing your PC World order for delivery..
Your order number: PCW1521248708
Standard delivery (expect delivery by Friday 13 February 2015)
Small item(s)
Quantity Product code Product price Total
HP - Pavilion 23-p030na 23" Touchscreen All-in-One PC 1 104464 £ 689.99 £ 689.99

Cost of products and services £ 689.99
Cost of delivery Free
Total cost £ 689.99
VAT (included) £ 115.00
What happens next?
Your Pavilion 23-p030na 23" Touchscreen All-in-One PC will be prepared for dispatch and a further email will be sent when we have your product tracking number (if applicable).
A courier will be delivering this item.
If you would like us to recycle your old product please take it to your local Currys or PC World store – PCWorld store locator link.
If you have any questions you can either ask online or call us on 0344 561 0000 (we’re open for calls Mon-Fri 8am – 8pm, Sat 8am – 6pm and Sun 9am –6pm).

© DSG Retail Limited 2014. DSG Retail Ltd, Maylands Avenue, Hemel Hempstead, HP2 7TG.
Company registration number: 504877, VAT number: 226 6599 33 !

SueS said...

Thank you Conrad. I've just received an identical email. I have Preview so can see the body of the text (and I hope Norton has adequate protection for this!) The email is authentic in every respect, and in perfect English, including the address of their distributor and a helpline number which says it has a ten minute queue. I'm about to send it to the PCWorld contact email address.

Simon said...

The attachments contain a Microsoft Word macro that will attempt to install Malware onto your computer so absolutely do not open them.

The email looks genuine apart from the 2014 copyright message..

Checking the message headers it appears to be your standard spoofed sender spam as the mails have actually come from a Bangladeshi IP.

Mark the email as spam then delete it. No point calling PC World as you'll be wasting time and money to be told what people are already saying.

Mick said...

Spoke to PC World about this yesterday. They say it did come from them and that it was a system error which sent this to anyone that had purchased from PC World in the past and given an email address.