Sponsored by..

Friday 27 January 2012

"INTUIT INC" malicious spam and {int_link} fail

A new version of a familiar spam that is meant to have a malicious payload:

Date:      Thu, 25 Jan 2012 20:43:03 +0100
From:      "INTUIT INC." [onlinebanking@ealerts.bankofamerica.com]
Subject:      Your tax information needs verification.

Dear Sir/Madam,

In our continuing effort to assure that exact information is being kept up on our systems, as well as to provide you better quality of service; INTUIT INC. has taken part in the Internal Revenue Service [IRS] Name and TIN Matching Program.

We have found out, that your name and/or Employer Identification Number, that is indicated on your account is different from the information on file with the IRS.

In order to check and update your account, please enter the secure section.

Yours sincerely,

Corporate Headquarters
2632 Marine Way
Mountain View, CA 94043

OK, the sharp eyed amongst you will have noticd that "INTUIT" and "bankofamerica.com" are two different entities. What you can't see is that the moron spammer has sent out all the links pointing to just http://{int_link}/ rather than remembering to include the spam URL. No doubt the next version of this will have a malicious payload, so take care.

1 comment:

Nina said...

Wow I just got this email in my work email and it looked very fishy. Also anyone who knows INTUIT and Turbo Tax, knows they don't use Bank of America as their bank... Thanks for posting.