Sponsored by..

Wednesday 5 February 2014

"LloydsLink reference" spam comes with a malicious attachment

This fake Lloyds TSB spam comes with a malicous payload:

Date:      Wed, 5 Feb 2014 20:38:29 +0100 [14:38:29 EST]
From:      GRP Lloydslink Tech [GRPLloydslinkTech@LLOYDSBANKING.COM]
Subject:      LloydsLink reference: 8255820 follow up email and actions to be taken

Lloyds TSB    

(New users may need to verify their email address)

If you do not see or cannot click / tap the Download attachment button:
Desktop Users:

You will be prompted to open (view) the file or save (download) it to your computer. For best results, save the file first, then open it.
Mobile Users:

Install the mobile application.

Protected by the Voltage SecureMail Cloud

SecureMail has a NEW LOOK to better support mobile devices!

Disclaimer: This email and any attachments are confidential and for the sole use of the recipients. If you have received this email in error please notify the sender.

Email Security Powered by Voltage IBE™

Copyright 2002-2014 Voltage Security, Inc. All rights reserved.

Lloyds Bank plc. Registered Office: 25 Gresham Street, London EC2V 7HN. Registered in England and Wales no. 2065. Telephone 0207626 1500

Bank of Scotland plc. Registered Office: The Mound, Edinburgh EH1 1YZ. Registered in Scotland no. SC327000.  Telephone: 08457 21 31 41

Cheltenham & Gloucester plc. Registered Office: Barnett Way, Gloucester GL4 3RL. Registered in England and Wales  2299428. Telephone: 0845 603 1637

Lloyds Bank plc, Bank of Scotland plc are authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and Prudential Regulation Authority.

Cheltenham & Gloucester plc is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.

Halifax is a division of Bank of Scotland plc. Cheltenham & Gloucester Savings is a division of Lloyds Bank plc.

HBOS plc. Registered Office: The Mound, Edinburgh EH1 1YZ. Registered in Scotland no. SC218813.

Lloyds Banking Group plc. Registered Office: The Mound, Edinburgh EH1 1YZ. Registered in Scotland no. SC95000. Telephone: 0131 225 4555

This e-mail (including any attachments) is private and confidential and may contain privileged material. If you have received this e-mail in error, please notify the sender and delete it  (including any attachments) immediately. You must not copy, distribute, disclose or use any of the information in it or any attachments.

Telephone calls may be monitored or recorded.

The attachment is SecureMessage.zip which in turn contains a malicious executable SecureMessage.scr which has an icon that looks like Internet Explorer. Despire the .scr suffix, this file is a plain old .exe file and will execute if you double-click it (don't!).

VirusTotal detections are 11/51, and automated analysis between ThreatExpert, Malwr and Anubis show an attempted download from [donotclick]asianfarm.org/images/pdf.enc and [donotclick]ideasempurna.com.my/wp-content/uploads/2014/02/pdf.enc with the following IPs being involved: (AT&T, US) (Piradius Net, Malaysia) (NTT, Japan) (Piradius Net, Malaysia) (Time Warner Cable, US)

The .enc file is an encoded executable, explained in detail here. I haven't tried to decode it but obviously that too will be malicious.

Recommended blocklist:

No comments: