Sponsored by..

Friday 30 July 2010

"Toyton Ltd" / todayisp.com / dboxs.org scam

We've seen this scam before, an alleged Chinese registrar claims that someone is buying a domain name similar to the one that you want in an attempt to scare you into buying overpriced domains that you do not need.

From: owen@dboxs.org
To: help@[domain name redacted]
Date: 30 July 2010 06:16
subject: [domain name redacted]

Dear [domain name redacted] team,

Our organization received a formal application from a company who is called Toyton Ltd are applying to register "[domain name redacted]" as their domain name and Internet keyword. In order to prevent cyber piracy,Please explain:

1: Whether this company is your IT supplier or distributor.

2: Whether you are interested in registering these domains first to preservation your company’s brand. (.cn .com.cn .net .asia .eu and keyword etc…)

We are now obligated to inform you this issue ,So we will handle the next step after this audit procedure. Pls understand.

Best regards       
Mww Group
Internet: www.todayisp.com
Internet: www.dboxs.org 
Email: Owen@dboxs.org

Confidentiality Statement:
The information in this email is confidential and may be legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this email by anyone else is unauthorized. If you are not an intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution, or other action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful. If you have received this message in error please be advised of your obligation to immediately notify sender of the error in transmission, and to destroy all associated documentation.

I always love confidentiality statements on spam!

Both domains are Chinese registered and are hosted in Hong Kong. The email comes from a Chinese IP address.

Registrars are not responsible for checking trademarks. If they were then domains registration would take days and cost a fortune.This is simply an attempt to rip you off.

No comments: