Sponsored by..

Friday 12 July 2013

ygregistry.com.cn domain scam

This domain scam has been doing the rounds for years.

From:     Jim Wang [jim.wang@ygregistry.com.cn]
Date:     12 July 2013 15:44
Subject:     Regarding Asia/Cn/Hk domain name & Internet Keyword

Dear Manager,

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward this to your CEO,Thanks)

This email is from China domain name registration center, which mainly deal with the domain name registration in China and Asia. We received an application from Huahong Ltd on July 8, 2013. They want to register " [redacted] " as their internet keyword and China/Asia/Hongkong (CN/ASIA/HK) domain names. But after checking it, we find this name conflicts with your company. In order to deal with this matter better, so we send you email and confirm whether this company is your distributor or business partner in China or not?

Best Regards,

General Manager
Shanghai Office (Head Office)
3002, Nanhai Building, No. 854 Nandan Road,
Xuhui District, Shanghai 200070, China
Tel: +86 216191 8696
Mobile: +86 1870199 4951
Fax: +86 216191 8697
Web: www.ygregistry.com.cn
Registrars are not responsible for checking if domains infringe on someone's trademark or trading name. If they were then it would make the system unworkable. What we have here are a bunch of Chinese scammers who are trying to panic you into registering an overpriced domain name that you don't need. Ignore it, or if you really are worried about brand protection then look for a trustworthy registrar that you've actually heard of.


NiceNIC said...

Reply by NiceNIC.NET http://nicenic.net

To avoid such scam, we would suggest domainers/domain Registrants to register/transfer .CN, .HK domain names with Accredited domain Registrars.

To check whether a website/company got accredited or not, the following links for Asian domain Registries would be required

For .CN Domain Registration:
http://www.cnnic.cn/jczyfw/CNym/cnzcfwjgcx/cnzcjg_ndsq/201206/t20120614_28273.htm (Domestic CNNIC Accredited Registrar)
http://www.cnnic.cn/jczyfw/CNym/cnzcfwjgcx/cnzcjg_ndsq/201207/t20120702_30267.htm (Overseas CNNIC Accredited Registrar)

For .HK Domain Registration:

JanR said...

I got a similar email from ygregistrar.com, and wanted to follow through, but felt their prices were inflated, and started digging.
Where can one report these people?

Unknown said...

Thanks for the heads up. I received one of these today.

Unknown said...

I got a similar email from ygregistrar.com, today, So heads up went on to the domain site I registered my .co.uk with and bought the .com,thinking I was going to sell my .co.uk & .com,and make some money. c'est la vie

Unknown said...

Thank you for this information. They also contacted me in the past month. They sounded very sincere in their email and sounded like they wanted to protect my company.